2021 EMA Awards – Extended Nominations Deadline of September 14!

The EMA of BC is pleased to announce that are resuming our Annual EMA of BC Awards process, and are accepting nominations for the categories listed below! After completing a modified Awards approach in response to the pandemic in 2020, we are excited to be back to accepting nominations for our recurring, biannual Awards categories. We will be holding a pared-down Awards Gala this year to showcase and award the winning project submissions from our members on November 18. We are continuing to plan this event in compliance with changing PHO restrictions – more details on this event will be released in the coming weeks, but please save-the-date for November 18!

Click here for official entry rules. The first stage of nominations is open – just download and fill out a Nomination Form, which will include a 200 word abstract describing your Project, and send to info@emaofbc.com by September 14, 2021!  

2021 Award Categories include:

Remediation and Restoration

The Remediation and Restoration Award recognizes outstanding work in the investigation and remediation or restoration for the environmental improvement of a site under either federal or provincial jurisdiction.  Completion of the investigation and remediation or restoration involving scientific advancement, innovation, and application of sustainable principles must have occurred in the past three years.

Emissions/Discharge Control

The Award for Emissions/Discharge Control recognizes outstanding work in the investigation of emissions or discharges to air, water, or land and implementation of controls to meet or exceed local, regional, provincial, or federal regulations or voluntary improvement targets.

Regulatory Challenge Award

The Regulatory Challenge Award recognizes the unilateral effort, cost, and uncertainty assumed by organizations and environmental managers that have improved the regulatory environment for themselves and others by either 1) challenging the fairness or validity of regulations, or regulatory rulings, policies or practices, or 2) meeting the challenges of regulatory decisions, uncertainty, or demands with fortitude, fairness and innovation.

The Awards are open to EMA member firms in the Province of British Columbia that have encouraged technological innovation, regulatory fairness, and application of the principles of sustainability, safety, and quality. Please review the Entry Rules to learn if your project qualifies and nominate for an award now. Please also note that, to be eligible for nomination, only the Lead Environmental Manager needs to be an EMA of BC member. Please complete the Nomination Form by September 14, 2021.

*6th Annual* Emerging Environmental Professionals

The Emerging Environmental Professionals Award recognizes an individual in their first 5 years in the environmental industry who has shown leadership within their company and the industry; demonstrated excellence in their practices; demonstrated commitment to the delivery of quality projects or results; accomplished outstanding achievements in their applicable fields; and shown leadership in the community.  

Nominate an Emerging Environmental Professional by October 15, 2021!